Originally published on CanadaSoccer.com


 

The Para Team took to the field to practice ahead of their semi-final match at the 2014 America Cup.
 

This tournament, which runs from the 19-26 September, is the first competitive, CP ISRA 7-a-side football tournament to be held in Canada. And a test event for next year’s Para Pan Am Games, also being held in Toronto, ON.
 

The Para Team began the tournament in Group A, and advanced to the semi-final following a tie with Argentina and a win over Venezuela.
 

By reaching the final-four, Canada has not only booked a date with third ranked Brazil, but secured a place in the 2015 CP ISRA World Championships, which will be held in England at the FA’s national training centre at St’ George’s Park.
 

This news, has given the team an added boost as they prepare to take on the South Americans on Wednesday. “Brazil are absolutely brilliant,” says Head Coach Drew Ferguson. “Win or lose it’s going to be a good test for our young guys, helping us to prepare for a busy 2015.”
 

One of the keys to the match, will be the home crowed. “We’re going to need their support,” says Team Captain Dustin Hodgson. “Brazil are going to be flying, we will have to play defensively, this means being quick and pressuring them every time they’re on the ball.”
 

The other semi-final features USA and Argentina. This match will also take place on Wednesday. Both games will be streamed on OSA’s website.

  • USA v Argentina - 15.00 ET / 12.00 PT
  • Canada v Brazil – 17.00 ET / 14.00 PT

The final and bronze medal match will take place on Friday 26 September. All matches are being played at the University of Toronto Para Pan Am Fields.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *